My Influenced stories

“The truth about stories is that’s all we are.”

– Thomas King

A lot of our culture is based around a lot of story telling. People have a lot of similar experiences, and many of the stories that we relate to are those experiences that we share in common with others. Our stories can be told through so much, such as book, word of mouth or even as creative as a song. Someones hurt in a story can also be someones motivation in another life. I’m sure all of us have heard a song on the radio, or watched a movie that impacts us and makes us think of one of our own stories even that moved our lives or made us change a view on life.

The story “You’ll never believe what happened”, by Thomas king, talks about his relationship with his father, and how he felt about losing his him. Now when you close your eyes and think of a father, most peoples images are probably the typical family man, this was not what he had as a father. His father did not even mention him and his brother to his other family that he had moved on to. After hearing something like this you can not help but think “why”? What could have that family possibly have done to be so shunned from their father? This is one of those stories that makes you sad and angry for that family. For some of you, that might have brought back a memory that made you feel alone, or excluded. For me, I have never experienced something quite like this story, but it does make me think about the world and what others go through. It makes me want to always want to greet people with friendliness, because you just don’t know what others are going through around you.

Robb Nash is a very well known speaker, and artist. His story goes as far back as when he was younger and in a car accident that left him with no pulse right on the scene. It was a head on head collision with a semi and the first person at the scene had no pulse for him. Can you imagine, no breath, no pulse… nothing… thinking your already dead. By the time the ambulance had arrived at the scene to take his body to the hospital, Robb’s pulse had some how magically returned. After a difficult recovery, and significant physical and emotional scars, Robb was left with a new look on life. He had the thoughts of having a second chance at life and making something big out of it. He decided to travel and tell his story around the world, not only in story, but also in song and speaking publicly about the struggles he felt and went through. He now openly talks to schools about how life can get you down but it gets better. That if you have those negative or suicide thoughts in your head it does get better, and WILL get better. He spoke to the world not only in a child’s view but also in an adults view. He touched on abuse,drugs, and even dealing with grief/depression. Robb Nash had children handing in their suicide notes to him by the end of his story, because he moved so many children in a way that they couldn’t see the world like he had. He opened so many eyes to a brand new world for people. To hear more about Robb Nash story go to https://www.robbnash.com/robb-nash.

This is why story telling is so powerful, it can impact you on the world in a completely different way than it might for someone else. This story I’m sure impacted a lot of people by not taking life for granted, which I also got from this story don’t get me wrong! I lost one of my sisters 7 years ago and had a very tough time with grief, which made me think good and hard about if this is what i want to do in life? Is my life everything I want it to be and living the fullest I can? This story made me look at myself in the mirror and realize i wanted to be more than just an Education Assistant. I wanted to do more for children. It was this very story, that inspired me to go back to school and get my Education. I just couldn’t help but think of how much more I was worth, than what I was truly seeing in myself as. These kind of stories are everywhere around us. It doesn’t matter the culture, or type of person you are, there are stories all around us that will reflect you to see you and the world differently. For me it was Robb Nash’s story, and it reflected me to go for what I want, to not be afraid of being a little fish in a big pond. There are so many opportunities in this world and we can’t be afraid to grab the ones we want.

~Melanie Darlington

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started